Department Of Physics

About Department

The mission of the Department of Physics is to provide a world-class education in Physical Sciences, empowering students to become critical thinkers, innovative problem solvers and responsible global citizens. We are committed to fostering a collaborative and inclusive learning environment that nurtures creativity, intellectual curiosity and academic excellence. We aim to produce graduates who are well-prepared to meet the challenges of a rapidly evolving world and make a positive impact on society. The Department of Physics is a dynamic and distinguished academic unit dedicated to the study of the fundamental principles governing the physical universe. As one of the leading departments of its kind, we offer a comprehensive range of undergraduate programs, attracting inquisitive minds from diverse backgrounds who share a passion for understanding the intricacies of the natural world. At the undergraduate level, we provide a rigorous Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.) degree in Non- Medical and B. Sc. with Computer Science. Our distinguished faculty members are passionate about teaching and dedicated to advancing research in their respective fields under the headship of Prof. Jaspreet Kaur. The department has 02 more doctorate faculty members. With expertise spanning a wide range of disciplines, our faculty is actively engaged in conducting impactful research and publishing in top journals. The department boasts state-of-the-art facilities, including specialised labs, research lab and a departmental library. Beyond academics, the department offers vibrant extracurricular activities. Students can participate in a variety of clubs, workshops, seminars, and conferences related to Physics.

Our department organises Quiz contests, declamation, poster competitions, Physics Model competitions from time to time. Our faculty members actively work in the programs of NCC and Gurmat Sabha of the college. Our departmental faculty has published 14 research papers, 07 books/ book chapters and attended 06 Conferences/ Symposia/ Workshops since 2015. We have organised an International Conference, an International Symposium, a National Symposium and 14 webinars in the last 05 years. One of our faculty members Dr. Paramjit Singh was invited by Tianjin Polytechnic University, China to deliver an extension lecture during an academic visit on Nov 27- Dec 01, 2018. Dr. Paramjit Singh has been granted a Major Research Project of budget 18.30 lakhs as a Principal Investigator by SERB, Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India.

Courses Offered

Undergraduate Level Postgraduate Level
B.Sc. (Non-Medical) M.Sc. (Non-Medical)
B.Com M.Com

Faculty Members

Photo Name Qualification
Prof. Jaspreet Kaur Prof. Jaspreet Kaur M.Sc, M.Phil, M.C.A
Dr. Anupriya Jain Dr. Anupriya Jain M.Sc,Ph.D
Dr.Paramjit Singh Dr.Paramjit Singh M.Sc(Hons), Ph.D

Department Photos